Kheops ensemble

Dohnányi & Penderecki Sextuors

Erno Dohnányi
Sextet for piano, violin, viola, cello, clarinet and horn in C major, Op. 37

Krzysztof Penderecki
Sextet for piano, violin, viola, cello, clarinet and horn

Fuga Libera / 2011

Muhiddin Dürrüoglu piano
Graf Mourja violin
Lise Berthaud viola
Marie Hallynck cello
Ronald van Spaendonck clarinet
Hervé Joulain horn

A star-studded team of soloists that needs no presentation, united by their love of chamber music, and two masterpieces of the lesser-known repertoire of sextets for piano, wind and strings; it’s a menu fit for a king! The spotlight is on Dohnanyi, a giant in Hungarian culture, emulator of Brahms, contemporary of Bartók and one of the major victims of his country’s turbulent history. His enthralling Sextet shows the quality, inventiveness and vitality of his writing. Penderecki, who reached the pantheon of musical glories during his lifetime, was another composer that wrote for this formation, and since his sextet’s premiere in Vienna’s Musikverein, the work has established itself as a cornerstone of the great Polish master’s work.